top of page

Week 20: Deadline

At long last, my project is complete. I'm extremely happy with my results and can definitely see how much I've improved since even my style matrix projects.

During this week I not only managed to get my characters fully textured but I also rigged them and presented them in a scene together; the late night, stress and lack of sleep has finally paid off.

I decided to get all the albedos done first as it was worrisome to look at Vivienne still in her untextured stage, once those were done I did my roughness maps by duplicating my albedo layers into a new document, then setting the mode to greyscale. I then went through and adjusted layer styles and merging/inverting where need be. I loved the look of having a matte material with a slightly glossy pattern; this stage took a little while because I had to pay a lot of attention to the detailing; it was worth it in the end.

Morgan Roughness

Dorethe Albedo/Roughness/Metal

The Metal maps were really straight forward as I just copied over the applicable layers and merged them, making sure to keep their base colour for a tint on them.

Vivienne Albedo/Roughness/Metal

All characters and their final textures, they work really well together and there's definitely a consistent level of quality.

Rigging them to a pose meant that I could show more personality in the stance rather than just A-posed characters.

I got some tips from my tutor and my peers (they even posed for me) so I could get a good group dynamic and I was given some advice to look at sources such as movie posters to see how they've implied the relationships between the actors based on their body language and positioning.

The final poses for them are more dynamic and I feel like there's more of a narrative now; Morgan feel more aloof/disinterested, Dorethe's main focus is on her child (though she looks forlorn), and Vivienne has her eye's on Dorethe (though maybe not for the most positive reasons).

For their individual screenshots I moved their heads to focus more on the camera and audience, giving more of a connection.

My 20 weeks are finally over (it felt like a lifetime) but I'm so happy with what I've managed to achieve. I havet learn a lot and can see room for improvements so I will keep on keeping on. My next steps now will be to get my stuff uploaded onto Artstation and I want to get the family cat and some furnishings done for degree show.

Luckily there's a bank holiday and a uni day off so I can finally take a break and enjoy my freedom for a bit before I get stuck back into it.

Thanks for following me on this journey and I will be back soon with my post mortem :)


bottom of page